Aurora, Iowa
"A Small Town With a Big Heart"
Population: 185

Aurora Happenings

Mayor: Richard Roepke
Phone: (319) 634-3363
PO Box 117
Aurora, IA 50607-0117
City Hall: (319) 634-3363
Fax: (319) 634-3373

City Clerk: Diana Gates

Treasurer: Marjorie Young

City Council: David Young, Richard Rau, Bret Lau, Jody Gage and David Schweitzer. The Aurora City Council meets the 2nd Tuesday of the month @ 7:30 PM at the Comet Center-Library.

Aurora Demographics:

If you would like your business or community organization featured on this page, please contact the EBCS Tech Team.

History of Aurora: Welcome to Aurora, located in beautiful N.E. Buchanan County! Aurora's birth came with the railroad. The town was platted in 1886, the same year the Chicago Great Western Railroad acquired the right of way to build a track from Dubuque to Oelwein. The town was officially incorporated on May 25, 1899.

Land for the new community came from Bishop and Alice Warren, major land owners in the area, who donated 40 acres for what soon was to become Aurora.

The town was named after East Aurora, New York, where Mr. Warren was born. The town grew very quickly. As soon as it was platted, the people of Mudville, a small but thriving community two miles south of Aurora, began moving their homes and businesses north, to the newly established town on the tracks. It was not long before Mudville was to become a casualty.


East Buchanan Community School District: Serving the Buchanan County Communities of Aurora, Quasqueton and Winthrop.
414 5th St. North
PO Box 40
Winthrop, IA 50682
Superintendent: Dan Fox
Phone: (319) 935-3767

St. Paul's Lutheran Church
Pastor Ron Spears (319-233-3004)
109 Prospect Street
PO Box 128
Aurora, Ia 50607-0128
(319) 634-3602

Aurora United Methodist Church
Paster John Brockscink (563-924-2811)
506 Luella Street
PO Box 143
Aurora, Ia 50607-0143
(319) 634-3333


Board of Directors:
Jody Gage, Chairperson; Lila Opitz, Dave Young, Margie Lau and Becky Wunder.

Aurora American Legion and Auxillary
Commander: Jerel L. Griffin
3035 115th St
Lamont, IA 50650
(319) 634-3834

Aurora Volunteer Fire Department
Fire Chief: Chuck Kivell
307 Main Street
PO Box 117
Aurora, Ia 50607-0117
(319) 634-3660

Aurora Community Club
Directors: Dave Schweitzer, Nancy McMillian, Jim Kremer, Mike Van Raden, David Young, Margie Lau-Treasurer, Lisa Bahe-Secretary

Aurora Action Planners
President: Lynda Lau (319-634-3384>
Secretary/Treasurer: Lila Opitz (319-634-3822)

Aurora Garden Club
President: Grace Smith
Secretary/Treasurer: Wanda Heitz

Aurora Public Library
Librarian: Elaine Rosburg
401 Woodruff St.
Aurora, Ia 50607 (319) 634-3960
Board of Directors: Jackie Oliver, Gladys Richardson, Becky Child, Barb Roepke, Renee Kivell, Merry French, and Gail Goedken.

Aurora Historical Society
PO Box 14
Aurora, Ia 50607-0017
President: Howard W. Bird
Vice President: Eileen L. Knapp
Secretary: Richard A. Roepke
Treasurer: Phyllis J. Lentz
Director: Gladys Hopper


Main St. Open House: Last weekend in March
Legion Smelt Fry: Last Friday in April
Old Fashion 4th of July Aurora City Park
Christmas Main St. Open House: Weekend before Thanksgiving

Updated by Grant Young
East Buchanan Community School Tech Team
Return to the EBCS Home Page.